Half-Arsed Haiku – Sun 23 August, 2015

Image courtesy of Unsplash via Pixabay

Image courtesy if Unsplash via Pixabay

Today I tried to be mindful. To be in the moment. To stop.  Be still and quiet  – focus on the world around me and appreciate the beauty in things that I might ordinarily miss. It was a gorgeous day so I lay on the grass  in our soon to be new house. Eyes shut, I felt the coolness of the ground beneath me and the warm sun on my face. I slowed my breathing down, I focused on all the sounds around me  – the distant hum of traffic, birdsong and the wind blowing through the trees and bushes. Oh and Spooky shouting on me from the scaffolding on the roof, telling me to get back on with the painting I was supposed to be doing… I call it mindfulness, seems others call it skiving….

On Just Listening:

eyes closed, i hear them.
a hundred thousand whispers
floating on the breeze
Leave a Reply

