Half-Arsed Haiku – Tue 18 August, 2015

Stars at night

Image courtesy of Nikiko via Pixabay

On Us All Being Made of Stars:

You blink back at me
across the forever. Still here.
gone already.

My time on this earth will no doubt be cut ‘short’ (whatever ‘long’ is!) but I like to take comfort in the thought that I am, to paraphrase the wondrous Carl Sagan, made of stars. What is me has been here since the beginning and will be here forever in some form or another.  Death will come at some point but I will essentially live on as part of everything – the earth, the trees, the sea, the air, the most basic of elements making up the most complex, amazing of things.  I will stop but go on. I will be dust again, but it remains stardust. My light may go out but I’ll still twinkle…. 😉

“The nitrogen in our DNA, the calcium in our teeth, the iron in our blood, the carbon in our apple pies were made in the interiors of collapsing stars. We are made of starstuff.”
― Carl Sagan, Cosmos

“We live on a hunk of rock and metal that circles a humdrum star that is one of 400 billion other stars that make up the Milky Way Galaxy which is one of billions of other galaxies which make up a universe which may be one of a very large number, perhaps an infinite number, of other universes. That is a perspective on human life and our culture that is well worth pondering.”
― Carl Sagan

Leave a Reply

