Half-Arsed Haiku – Wed 8 July, 2015

I’m back! Did you miss me?!

Was distracted briefly by hospital stuff then seemed to lose my haiku-a-day mojo for a (long) while and once I stopped it felt like such an effort trying to go back and fill the spaces in the days that were missing a wee poem.  And then the days turned into weeks.  And it seemed like even more of a Herculean task to catch up given it seems to take me a stupid amount of time to compose such a small verse. Small but perfectly formed though is what they need to be and that takes a lot of thinking.

Anyhoo, I will try not to worry about the lapses in my daily haiku challenge for now and just start doing them again!  You never know I  might be able to scrabble together notes and try and remember what was going on these last few weeks and do a couple a day to fill in the gaps. Then before you know it we’ll be back up to date.  The sad thing is I know of one person who used to look forward to my daily haikus who won’t be reading them anymore – another reason I lost my mojo, I’ve also been losing too many friends to this stupid disease these last few months.  So this first one of my new batch is for the beautiful Carol, whom I miss very much. I will think of you each time I try to capture and enjoy the beauty or magic of a tiny moment in time in my writing, just as you did in real life. See you on the other side for a ‘brew’ lady…. x

Blackbird

Image courtesy of DomenicBlair via Pixabay

On A Regular Visitor

with a beak as bright
as its feathers are dark, the
blackbird scuttles by
8 comments

  1. Ron · July 8, 2015

    I DID miss you and was afraid I knew where you were. But I have learned not to ask and do what I can through prayer. I’m looking forward to your haiku and trust you’ll profit from reading mine even if they are only silly little trifles. Humor, I believe, has its place in healing and often urge people in similar circumstances to read Norman Cousins’ classic groundbreaking book “Anatomy of an Illness” to understand the healing power of laughter.

    Welcome back, Hon. You HAVE been missed, 🙂 ❤

    Ron

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen · July 9, 2015

    I missed you — and was hoping for the best.
    It will be good to read your haiku again – and I enjoyed this tribute.
    With a hug —

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joanna · July 14, 2015

    I missed you too as I now am one of you and know the pain so closely. Such a devastating surprise and it still leaves me reeling. I will feed off your courage and take your words as medication now that chemo is no longer an option.

    Like

    • TheKintsugiGirl · July 23, 2015

      Sorry for the delayed response – I have been offline again and so very sorry to hear this. Your head must be spinning. Sending you lots of love and strength and all the positive vibes I can muster. Hope you have plenty of people to support you through the crapness… if not I am always at the end of an email x

      Like

  4. digthedream · July 14, 2015

    Well thank GOODNESS!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

