Half-Arsed Haiku – Tue 31 March 2015

Image courtesy of tpsdave via pixabay

Image courtesy of tpsdave via pixabay

Ever had a CT scan?  I was up getting my three monthly one today to check on Mr Cancer and see what he’s up to in my liver (mostly). The CT or computerised tomography scanner uses x-rays to take pictures of your insides from different angles giving a series of cross sections and resulting in incredibly detailed images of the internal organs, bones, soft tissue and blood vessels.  It’s a sort of doughnut-shaped machine and your head sticks out the top so unlike the MRI scanner where I daren’t open my eyes in case i panic slightly, you don’t feel claustrophobic at all in this one.  The CT scan is also silent – again unlike the MRI where the incredibly noisy metallic banging and dur dur dur dur noises remind me of weird and wonderful experimental noise bands. With my CT scan I have to drink a lot of liquid in the hour before the scan in which some contrast medium has been put. A lot of folk seem to think it’s disgusting but I don’t notice the taste too much, especially when you add some juice.  In my case I also get an injection of contrast dye through a cannula in your arm.  They take one scan, very quick, without this then inject it in and take another.  Some people can be allergic to this dye so you have to watch out for anything untoward. They do however warn you to expect a warm flush to run through your body and, more disconcertingly, advise you that this warm feeling will hit your groin and you may feel like you have peed yourself but, honestly, you haven’t.  I know it’s coming every time but you still get that moment slight panic when it happens and have to remind yourself it’s just a trick the contrast is playing on you.  Anyway here is today’s hospital haiku celebrating that glorious moment…

On Those Slightly Disconcerting CT Sensations

warmth flows down, pools there.
bladder mirage, illusion
of an accident
3 comments

  1. Ron · April 1, 2015

    Why you haven’t received single comment or “like” for this one I may never know! But that’s their problem! This is gripping, humorous, scary…and all the other words — wonderfully well written! (And I’ve been in those monster-machines and will be again on the eighth of April! ) 🙂

    Like

  2. Ron · April 1, 2015

    Why you haven’t received single comment or “like” for this one I may never know! But that’s their problem! This is gripping, humorous, scary…and all the other words — wonderfully well written! (And I’ve been in those monster-machines and will be again on the eighth of April! ) 🙂

    Like

  3. TheKintsugiGirl · April 1, 2015

    Somehow I’ve got your comment twice so that more than makes up for it!! Thanks and good luck with your own monster machine encounter on the 8th!

    Like

Leave a Reply

