Half-Arsed Haiku – 5 Jan 2015

sleepy B&W

On Being Happy At Not Having to Go to Work But For Rubbish Reasons

First Monday, new year
turn over, fall back asleep
bittersweet but warm

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

That post-Christmas back-to-work / school cloud that hangs over you after the excitement of the festive season and the New Year.  I always hated that.  I’ve got a very wise friend who always takes an extra day off work so she never has to go back on a Monday.  Just makes it feel a bit less of a shock to the system after a holiday.  One more chance to gloat quietly over those that are back at their desks, takes the edge off it all slightly. Tuesdays feel a little bit less evil than Mondays.

This is the first time post New Year since my diagnosis that I’ve not been working and when that alarm went off at stupid o’clock and Spooky got up, well I had been in such a deep sleep and mid crazy-dream that I got a bit of a fright.  It felt like the middle of the night. For a moment I was so incredibly grateful that I didn’t need to get up, I just turned over and buried myself under the covers. Happy and warm.  Then I remembered why I wasn’t working and it was sort of sad.  That didn’t last long… I’ve never been a morning person, happy won out. So did sleep…

To share/ like / comment, click on the title post….

2 comments

  1. J · January 7, 2015

    Having had stage four bone cancer once, I can relate to this.
    Take care of yourself. Be good to yourself. And whatever you do, nurture a sense of humor, too.
    [hugs]

    Like

  2. TheKintsugiGirl · January 7, 2015

    Sorry to hear you’ve had to deal with that J – hope you are doing OK, although you seem to be talking about it in the past tense so I am taking that as a good sign, which with Stage IV anything is amazing to hear! I have various coping mechanisms developed over the last five years.. denial is the best one – stands me and my loved ones in good stead. Then humour – sometimes pretty black humour. Then… well, that’s it really unless you count shopping, wine and biscuits! I am trying to be more zen-like and do meditation and mindfulness – although so far this new year the shopping, wine and biscuits have got in the way. I will persevere though as i think they are incredibly useful tools. I also have a good support network online – other women in the same (rather leaky) boat. they too have a good but rather dark sense of humour and great strength and positivity. It’s a great help but the downside of a community of this nature is that you lose so many friends so often. Wouldn’t be without them though. Thanks for your kind words too. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

