The Kintsugi Girl

 

Why The Kintsugi Girl?

“There is a crack, a crack, in everything. That’s how the light gets in.”
Leonard Cohen

(c) The Kintsugi Girl If you  haven’t already come across this beautiful concept, Kintsugi is the Japanese art of mending broken pottery with precious metals.  Resin, mixed with powdered gold or silver, highlights the cracks. The damage is seen as part of the history of the object – not something to be hidden but something to be celebrated.  The object is considered all the more beautiful for its defects. All the more precious. It should be the same with us. We all have our scars, whether physical or otherwise, our issues and problems, our foibles and flaws. But these are part of us, part of our story. Likewise the world can be a sad, scary place to be. But that makes seeking out the beauty and light even more important.

In my case, my writing and painting, are a way of dealing with a life-changing diagnosis of Stage IV breast cancer.  I may at times feel broken, I may be battle-scarred but I am determined not to let the dark cloud of cancer swallow me up.  So I am determined to find beauty in the broken, to up the happy, embrace joy and celebrate life whenever and wherever I can, for as long as I can! This blog, and the tiny poems it is home to, provides a focus for that. It’s all about haikus (and often hospitals) – my life summed up in three lines, 17 syllables….

Find out more about me

You can also see my art at The Kintsugi Girl Gallery

Source: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File%3ATea_bowl_fixed_in_the_Kintsugi_method.jpg

Image: Wikipedia

2 comments

  1. Blake · February 5, 2015

    I’d never heard of Kintsugi – thanks for introducing me to such a wonderful concept 🙂

    Like

  2. I have on occasion felt the power of repairing something that was broken. Never realized that it was a philosophy. Thank you for letting me know.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

